Randolph County goes 2-for-5 in state finals

Stephanie King

Randolph County entered the final day of the NCHSAA State Wrestling Championships with five wrestlers vying for a state title. By the end of the day two individual championships and one team championship would be come back to Randolph County.

Uwharrie Charter’s Hayden Waddell and Josh Poteat, Wheatmore’s Ethan Oakley and Jared Niemitalo, and Asheboro’s Michael Smith were the final five county wrestlers left standing after Friday’s semifinals. They all battled hard in their championship matches, but it would be Waddell and Smith who conquered their opponent and brought home the title.

Waddell’s win would be his second straight title after winning his first state title last season in the 106-weight class. The win by Waddell would also be Uwharrie Charter’s second state title in any sport. Smith’s title would be the first for the junior as he capped off the season with a 48-1 record.

Uwharrie Charter also brought home the first team state title in any sport as they were crowned the 2017-2018 1A State Wrestling Individual Team Champions. The Eagles won the title with 115.5 total team points. The Eagles also had four wrestlers place third in their respective weight classes and one who placed fourth.

State 1A Individual Team State Wrestling Champions Uwharrie Charter Eagles

State Champions:

1A 113LB: Hayden Waddell (UCA) pinned Matt Lovin (Robbinsville)

3A 220LB: Michael Smith (Asheboro) defeated Nick Hampton (North Iredell) by a decision of 10-5

State Runner-Ups:

1A 120LB: Josh Poteat (UCA) fell to Timothy Decatur (Rosewood) by a 17-1 decision

2A 120LB: Ethan Oakley (Wheatmore) fell to Rylee Billings (West Wilkes) by a 9-8 decision

2A 132LB: Jared Niemitalo (Wheatmore) fell to Logan Lambert (South Rowan) by a 4-3 decision

3rd Place Finishers:

1A 138LB: Caleb Bryant (UCA)

1A 145LB: Nick Menjivar (UCA)

1A 170LB: Bailey Parks (UCA)

1A 182LB: Isaiah Martin (UCA)

4th Place Finishers:

1A 195LB: Dylan Jones (UCA)

2A 145LB: Chase McKinney (Wheatmore)

2A 220LB: Devin Daugherty (Wheatmore)

5th Place Finishers:

2A 106LB: Hayden Caldwell (Wheatmore)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.