Wheatmore vs Asheboro Boys Basketball CT Tournament Championship

The Wheatmore Warriors took home the 2017 Courier Tribune Christmas Invitational title on Saturday after defeating the Asheboro Blue Comets 47-45. Asheboro was in control 13-6 by the end of the first quarter and by halftime they were leading 20-16. Wheatmore fought their way back in the third quarter for a 37-30 lead. Asheboro would rally in the fourth quarter to tie the game at 41 all by the end of regulation. The Warriors would pull ahead in overtime for the win. Gavin Rains led the Warriors with 16 points, while Matt Owens finished with 14. Austin Biggs chipped in 8 and Corey Hudgins added 6. For Asheboro, it was Tysean Freshwater leading the way with 12 points. Nate Fisher and Will Clauser both finished with 9 for the Blue Comets.