Volleyball Playoffs

The 2017 volleyball state tournament will begin on Saturday and six county teams made the field as announced by the NCHSAA on Thursday. Three of the six teams will host first round games as the other three go out on the road.

In the 2A bracket, the Wheatmore Warriors earned a number two seed after finishing the regular season undefeated at 24-0. The Warriors won the regular season crown and conference tournament title. Providence Grove was selected as a 15 seed, while Randleman earned a 28 seed. Trinity was the last 2A school from the county and earned a 30 seed. Wheatmore, Providence Grove, and Trinity are all in the same East region bracket with a possible Wheatmore vs Providence Grove match-up in the second should both teams win Saturday.

First round match-ups (Saturday 10/21):

#2 Wheatmore vs #31 Wallace Ross-Hill (game time 1:00PM)

#15 Providence Grove vs #18 J.F. Webb (game time 2:00PM)

#28 Randleman at #5 Midway (game time 6:00PM)

#30 Trinity at #3 Currituck County (game time 2:00PM)

In the 3A bracket, the Asheboro Blue Comets and the Southwestern Randolph Cougars both earned spots in the tournament. Asheboro earned a 7 seed and will host their first-round match, while Southwestern Randolph was given a 22 seed and will go on the road Saturday. There a chance for an Asheboro vs Southwestern Randolph match-up in the regional finals.

First round match-ups (Saturday 10/21):

#7 Asheboro vs #26 Southeast Guilford (game time 4:00PM)

#22 Southwestern Randolph at #11 J.H. Rose (game time 2:00PM)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.